Yukon Legislative Assembly

Liz Hanson


Members Home |Speaker's Welcome |Speakers of the Legislative Assembly |Past Members |Which electoral district do I live in? |


Yukon Legislative Assembly
Box 2703
Whitehorse, Yukon
Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-393-7059
Fax: 867-393-6499

Whitehorse Centre
New Democratic Party

Elizabeth Hanson was elected to the 32nd Yukon Legislative Assembly in a by-election in the electoral district of Whitehorse Centre on December 13, 2010. She was re-elected in the general election for the 33rd Legislative Assembly on October 11, 2011 and in the general election for the 34th Legislative Assembly on November 7, 2016.

Ms. Hanson is currently a member of the Members' Services Board, the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, and the Standing Committee on Rules, Elections and Privileges. Ms. Hanson was appointed to these committees by order of the House on January 12, 2017.

Ms. Hanson was the leader of the Yukon New Democratic Party from September 2009 to May 2019. She is currently the NDP caucus critic for the Department of Finance, the Executive Council Office, the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources, the Department of Economic Development, the Department of Justice, the Department of Highways and Public Works, the Public Service Commission, the Department of Tourism and Culture, the Yukon Workers Compensation Health and Safety Board, and the Yukon Liquor Corporation.

During the 33rd Legislative Assembly Ms. Hanson was appointed to the Members’ Services Board and chaired the Standing Committee on Public Accounts. Ms. Hanson also served on the Members' Services Board and the Standing Committee on Public Accounts during the 32nd Legislative Assembly.